$vboptions[bbtitle]

Best Delay and Reverb Pedal for Rockabilly?

guitardedzen
March 20th, 2010, 06:28 PM
I'm new to effects pedals and frankly am coming back to electric guitar after a five year stint with bluegrass flatpicking. I'll have my kit blackguard esquire finished by sometime next week and am playing through a 1979 silverface fender champ (tube still). Most of my rockabilly playing will be coming from P-90's in my three pickup Epiphone Zephyr Blues Deluxe (think '49 Gibson ES-5 or see profile pic). I believe my dad has either a Boss or Ibanez pedal he uses as well as a Dano pedal that he uses for his gigs. The sounds I'm going for are mainly like Cliff Gallups from mid 50's Gene Vincent's Blue Caps and of course Scotty Moores sound. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

wangdangdoodle
March 20th, 2010, 06:32 PM
Are you sure you're not thining of a 'delay' pedal?

cactusrob
March 20th, 2010, 06:38 PM
That's what I was wondering, too WDD...a tight dose of delay and some reverb is what I would think you'd need but I'm no rockabilly expert.... There's a lot of very friendly, knowledgeable folks on here that I'm sure will have an informed answer for you.

imsilly
March 20th, 2010, 07:15 PM
It's definately delay and reverb you want. Though I guess some people used Chorus, I know for a fact that a lot of Tape Echo Machines incorporate Chorus as an additional affect. Think later Roland Space Echo machines.

There are two routes really an authentic analog tape delay and spring reverb one and a modern pedal one. Frankly both a good, just different and it's a personal preference which you choose. They both have pluses and minuses.

The biggest differences are in cost and reliability. If you are on a budget pedals might be your only course, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing because they are a lot more reliable. Though there are aspects of old analog effects they can't recreate.