$vboptions[bbtitle]

P90s: Duncan Designed vs GFS vs Tonerider

wetland10
December 5th, 2009, 09:38 AM
Looking at pickup options for my Squier Custom II. I have the original DUncan Designed P90s in there with the original 250k pots. How do these pickups compare to GFS P90s and Tonerider P90s? One better than the other, is it purely subjective? What do you think? I have no experience with GFS or Tonerider.

Thanks,
Wayne

Telenator
December 5th, 2009, 11:17 AM
It all depends on what you're playing. P90's are very versatile pickups and come in a multitude of flavors. You can jazz 'em, rock 'em, blues 'em or just about anything else. I have 5 P90 equipped guitars and was recently involved in a new version of this great old pickup. It's brighter, more articulate and falls somewhere between a P90 and a Ric single coil pickup in sound.

I have a set of Vintage Vibe P90's that were made to fit a mini-humbucker mount and a set of Seymour Duncan P90's fit into Ric toaster covers. Both killer versions in their own right.

Yup, lots to choose from both production and custom P90's!

Chrismo
December 5th, 2009, 03:59 PM
Those DD pickups are pretty good - they might fall around the same quality of the GFS or Toneriders. I've heard great reviews of GFS and Tonerider P-90s, so if you decide to swap I think you'll be fine either way.

Codger
December 5th, 2009, 08:38 PM
Iíve used a couple of sets of the GFS P-90s. The neck is reverse wound so you get hum cancelling in the middle position, and theyíre alnico 5, so they may sound warmer than your other pickups. Iíve been happy with them. Some folks have raved about the Mighty Mite for budget P-90s also.

wetland10
December 6th, 2009, 08:12 PM
So many to choose from. I think the DD ones are alright, just looking into any alternatives that won't set me back a lot of money but might be a good bang for the buck.

Wayne

Jimo
December 6th, 2009, 09:22 PM
GFS Mean 90's = $75 = Alnico 5

Tonerider Rebel 90's = $100 = Anico 2