$vboptions[bbtitle]

Anyone over dealt with The Relic Guitar Studio?

tonfarbe
November 1st, 2009, 05:16 PM
On my search for a nitro laquered Telecaster body I found this website: http://relicguitarstudio.com/

The examples on their site look pretty good and the prices are even better (at least for us Europeans).
Then I did a google search for their company name, hoping to find any customer reviews but couldn't find a single one.
That's strange because, according to their website, they are currently rebuilding their website which means that they didn't start this business the other day.

Has anyone here ever dealt with 'The Relic Guitar Studio' in the UK ?
Any first hand opinions about their products?

tonfarbe
November 2nd, 2009, 02:57 PM
In case anyone's interested, I have written them an email where I asked why I couldn't find any customer reviews/opinions on the internet.
I got a very friendly and detailed email from John of 'Relic Guitar Studio' where he explained their situation.

Here's an excerpt from the first email I got:
"The website you see is relatively new - up until earlier this year we only dealt directly with luthiers and guitar builders rather than to the public - our website was hosted under yahoo GeoCities (no longer there since GeoCities closed down) but given that we didn't deal to the public there was very little there aside from an email address and we never bothered building up link campaigns to raise the profile of our website.
We have only recently moved to supplying a far wider number of products and opened up to the public directly - hence the new website, domain and the recent high level of directory listings (we employed a third party to help get our website indexed and up on the search engines to attract potential customers such as yourself!)."

Later today, John sent me some photos of their current work.
One photo shows their website and my email message on the screen to prove that this photo was taken today (and that they are not a scam and do really sell aged parts).
34336

Btw, I never thought that they were a scam...just wanted to hear some other people's opinions on their work.

Anyway, John of 'Relic Guitar Studio' did everything possible to give me a safe feeling as a customer - seems to be a first class act.

I'm going to order a lightly reliced Telecaster body from them + will report back in a few weeks when the body has arrived.

werthersorginal
November 2nd, 2009, 03:17 PM
Fantastic. I have just stumbled across these guys. Been looking at King Bee, McGuire and Bill Nash stuff. Everyone has said Bill Nash is the way to go but this lot look great. And the prices are stunning. A 52 Relic Tele for under a grand! Yes please. I'm not happy about the fact I can't speak to them though. Any idea where they are?

tonfarbe
November 2nd, 2009, 03:31 PM
I'm not happy about the fact I can't speak to them though. Any idea where they are?

I have no idea where in the UK they are but you can easily contact them via their website and I'm sure John will send you an address with a phone number.

PeterUK
November 2nd, 2009, 03:53 PM
Has anyone here ever dealt with 'The Relic Guitar Studio' in the UK ?
Any first hand opinions about their products?

Well, I thought I knew my relics and the UK relic specialists but I'ev never heard of 'em. There is NOTHING on their website as to where they are based? :shock: That worries me.

Fantastic. I have just stumbled across these guys. Been looking at King Bee, McGuire and Bill Nash stuff. Everyone has said Bill Nash is the way to go but this lot look great. And the prices are stunning. A 52 Relic Tele for under a grand! Yes please. I'm not happy about the fact I can't speak to them though. Any idea where they are?

Werthersoriginal, I'm in Keyworth so if you fancy checking out this one get in touch:

http://img4011.photobox.co.uk/02328620d586f2ae31891ae55c6b9f8b8e4100d5c448bdadda 339f2a2f6a09d4187768e7.jpg

More details here:

http://www.photobox.co.uk/album/22112373

We have a world class relic-er / aged effect finisher here in the UK so you don't necessarily have to look to the USA for first class relics.

:grin: Peter

tonfarbe
November 2nd, 2009, 04:36 PM
They are also listed under 'Dealers & distributors' on the website of monsterrelic.com

52_Nocaster
November 2nd, 2009, 05:39 PM
I have also contacted the 'relic studio' requesting info about bodies and necks for a self build project i am embarking on. I would feel much more comfortable with a physical address and a telephone number rather than just a website. The bakelite pickgaurd advertised on the website is the same photo as on crazyparts website.



http://relicguitarstudio.com/plastics/pickguards/52-black-bakelite-telecaster.html

http://www.crazyparts.de/00000098ca0c77506/0427089c4d0d6101f/0000009b0e0d6820f.php

This does not give me a warm fuzzy feeling.

Neither does agressive replies to a seasoned poster..!

Does anyone know of where to get aged parts for a '52 double pickup esquire project?

TDPRI
November 2nd, 2009, 06:57 PM
I'm just confused. I can't tell who's saying what here.

I'm going to declare a "Do Over". I've removed much of the thread and you guys can try again -NICELY- to discuss this subject.

Emails will go out to some to help them correct their behavior.

Thanks

SimonSimon
November 2nd, 2009, 07:06 PM
The bakelite pickgaurd advertised on the website is the same photo as on crazyparts website.

They're both authorised dealers/resellers of the same relic company: Monster Relic. I should imagine it's a stock manufacturer image.

Crazy Parts is in Germany, Relic Guitar Studio is in the UK although with the exchange rate the way it is at the moment, the RGS is a little bit cheaper :lol:

Have you had any joy getting in touch with them?