geedo
October 10th, 2009, 09:05 PM
Anyone used the following to buy parts?
http://www.partsisparts.net/
http://www.marshallparts.com
They appear to be essentially the same site.. are they genuine?
geedo
Mike Simpson
October 10th, 2009, 09:51 PM
never used them... don't know anything about them.
It looks like http://www.partsisparts.net/ is the main actual site and the site owner just registered some more domain names to get more traffic.
http://www.marshallparts.com
http://www.voxparts.com/
http://www.korgparts.com/
http://www.fenderparts.com/
http://www.gibsonparts.com/
http://www.gretschparts.com/
all lead to http://www.partsisparts.net/
.... seems like the owners of these trade names would not like that...
geedo
October 10th, 2009, 09:57 PM
thanks, would love to hear from anyone that has used them - and can vouch for them being OK
Citizen_Insane
October 11th, 2009, 01:58 AM
I was also interested in buying some parts from them, anyone have any experience with them?
Rhomco Guitars
October 11th, 2009, 08:52 AM
several time over the years to purchase vox amp parts. No problems that I can recall.
Good luck,
Rob
geedo
October 11th, 2009, 09:57 AM
I ordered a bridge from them a few weeks ago, and never received an email detailing shipping charges. Perhaps they have had to order it? But they haven't told me.
I emailed them requesting an update on my order and haven't heard back.
I'd call them, but I'm in the UK and would rather avoid the costly call charges!
Thx
Robertito
October 11th, 2009, 11:13 AM
I ordered from the guy several times, and although the site is legitimate, I can't recommend his service. There was a problem with the order every time - one time the part wasn't in stock, so he cancelled the order without telling me. Six weeks later or so, when I hadn't received anything and emailed him, he said something to the effect that "You should have known when the part didn't arrive." The times I did receive my orders, they took a LONG time to arrive. I won't order from him again.
NJ Joe G
October 11th, 2009, 11:34 AM
I used this vendor and found the service and price to be very good. It is owned by John Sprung who is an expert on Fender Amps.
http://www.amazon.com/Fender-Amps-First-Fifty-Years/dp/0793537339
bo 402
October 15th, 2009, 02:58 AM
"Parts is Parts" and all the associated websites is John Sprung in Vermont. Up into the mid eighties he had a great vintage guitar shop here in Maryland called American Vintage Guitar. Cesar Diaz was his amp tech! He had a good working relationship with Danny Gatton and several of Danny's personal guitars went through that shop.
When he moved up to Vermont he started a mail order guitar shop and also picked up the franchise to be a parts dealer for the Unicord brands i.e. Korg and Marshall. That's when he started calling his business "Parts is Parts." So his factory parts are the real deal and he's great to deal with from my experience anyway.
cmatthes
October 15th, 2009, 06:38 PM
Good luck!
geedo
October 19th, 2009, 06:45 PM
FYI I got my part, it was a reasonable delivery wait for such an item, especially as it was shipped from US to UK.
However, I did email 2 or 3 times, and got no response from any of my communications.