$vboptions[bbtitle]

How to report attempted scammer?

TonyF
August 4th, 2009, 09:20 AM
Hey:

I was wondering how to do this. Had an attempted scam throught the classifieds. Thanks All.

TonyF

flyingcolors95
August 4th, 2009, 01:56 PM
I had the same thing happen to me. They sent me a 4800.00 dollar certified check from citi bank. I was only asking 1900. for the guitar, thankfully I realized what was up. I hope nobody falls for it.

TDPRI
August 4th, 2009, 02:44 PM
Guys, please just email or simply report it here. Really, it's the only way I can ban these crooks is when I know about them.

They are everywhere on the internet not just here. Here's the deal: You cannot run ads online and NOT get scam emails. Period. The signs are very easy to spot. Educate yourselves.

And please simply post the email address of the perps here or email me at webmaster@tdpri.com. And please do it ASAP! Both of you.

PS. I need the original email address as via their first contact email because it will contain the same email address they used to register. If the TDPRI username is on that contact email please give me that as well. If you put your email address in your ad, and they've contacted you from that there is no way that I can help you because non-registered can contact you from an email that you put in the sales description.

TonyF
August 4th, 2009, 03:40 PM
Hey:
The same deal for me. here's the email
Mark Stome [mark_stome@yahoo.com]

Thanks for the replies
TonyF



I had the same thing happen to me. They sent me a 4800.00 dollar certified check from citi bank. I was only asking 1900. for the guitar, thankfully I realized what was up. I hope nobody falls for it.

TDPRI
August 4th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Yeah... posted about that guy the day he joined and we banned him.

http://www.tdpri.com/forum/bad-dog-cafe/171095-mark_stome-scammer-classifieds.html

guitarbuilder
August 6th, 2009, 01:10 PM
I just got this today: From a Larry_Mahn with a link to my neck for sale. Sounds suspect to me.

larry_mahn@yahoo.com

Hello,

I saw the advert of your item for sale and am really interested in it,I will
like to know if it is still available for sale,if so let me have the asking
price and the picture(s) ,the present condition.I will also like to know if it
can be picked up in your location.To hear from you soonest.Thanks

TDPRI
August 6th, 2009, 01:20 PM
Yes it is. See the notice in the Bad Dog and in the Announcement section.

When you see an email like this don't say "sounds suspect" say "a scammer, for sure."

Regulator
August 6th, 2009, 07:57 PM
Guitar Builder,

Your add matches the same one I received from a " Mark Stome" last week.
He sent a fradualent certified check and his part of Nigerian Internet Scam.

I noticed where Mr. Stome was banned from the site and he has apparently changed names or somone has taken over.