$vboptions[bbtitle]

Help choosing tools

Cap'n Kier
June 24th, 2009, 09:47 AM
Hi all :smile:

Want to have a go at building a guitar body, but first need some tools and wondering if anybody could help me out choosing some on a budget?

I think first I'll need to find out what I'll need... I've seen people using some very nice machinery, but I'd only like to have the essentials as money and space is a bit limited (and I'd only be making a couple maybe as a hobby!)

So far I think i need :

A Router
Jigsaw?
Gauge / Caliper?

I'm new to Routers and woodworking in general (I just love steep learning curves :lol:), so what sort of spec's should I be looking for? type, power ratings, RPM, plunge stroke?, plunge depth, collet size, max cutter size...

Yeah... you get the drift lol, I'm sure alot of values aren't so important, but any guidlines in what to look for, maybe brands to avoid, would be superb!

Another thing that's pretty obivously needed are different router bits aswell... I'm guessing template bits are used alot? again help with types, sizes, materials etc would be great :cool:

Sorry for asking so much in one post! I've got loads of questions but I'll do a bit more searching before I make a fool of myself! (e.g. how do you secure the MDF template onto your blank while routing??)

Many thanks!

Kier.

Jack Wells
June 24th, 2009, 11:33 AM
I was about to recommend the Porter Cable 690LR from Amazon but I see you're in the UK. Don't know what's available there. I'm sure some of your fellow UK members can recommend a router that's available locally.

You don't need a plunge router. Once you get your router I would suggest building a router table.

crispy king
June 24th, 2009, 12:01 PM
I couldn't find a fixed base router for a sensible price ( < 250 ). You US guys have all the luck.
I bought a Bosch POF1100 (plunge) from ebay. It seems ok so far.