Is there a way to use an amp head through the speakers of a combo amp? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 20th, 2008, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Solcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 437
Is there a way to use an amp head through the speakers of a combo amp?

Or do you have a buy a speaker box?

Solcat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 20th, 2008, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,350
I'm often wrong , but I would think you could simply plug your head into the back of the cab where the combos own connection to the speaker would be .

Just be sure the speaker can handle your head .
Flat357 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 20th, 2008, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gossip County
Posts: 651
What Flat357 says is perfectly right.
You also have to make sure that the speaker impedance of the combo's speaker is the same as that of your amp head. An impedance mismatch is not good for (could even be fatal to) Your power tubes and/or Your output transformer.
Other than that, just go ahead!
4 Strings is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old January 20th, 2008, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
PhatTele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 835
I do this all the time. It's actually my main rig for gigs. I use a Tremolux or Bandmaster or Bassman head and patch it to a 2x10 combo cabinet which has a Bandmaster chassis sitting in it. I use the head as the main amp by putting a speaker cable in the head, attaching a dual female socket to the other end of the cable. Then, I take the speaker cable and plug from the combo cab and stick it into the other end of the female connector. What this does is allow me to play whatever head I want as the main amp and then use the onboard Bandmaster as a backup in case I blow a tube or something else goes flakey w/the head.
PhatTele is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 20th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
chabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 55
Posts: 3,010
Yeah, I do it too. Just go to guitar center and get the proper coupler and cords. The little coupler is the key is you already have plenty of speaker cords laying around. The coupler is so you can unplug the speaker from the amp which speaker you want to use. You can't just leave the amps speaker plugged into the amp. Then you have to plug the head into the amp which is what the coupler is for. The coupler is just a 1/4 " tube with double female receptacles.
chabby is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Demo-Pack Material - BBB
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.