Tube Amp Questions - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old February 27th, 2013, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Tube Amp Questions

I have a question. I have been running a Fender Super Champ XD for about 5 years on the same set of tubes. I have played a few very small live gigs were it got pushed very hard. I have never replaced the tubes on it since i bought it. I havent had one blow on my yet, is there any reason to change them? If so, how often do you guys change your tubes on your amp? If you have this amp, what tubes do you recommend putting in? I hardly ever gig with it unless were doing a very small gig. I use it mainly for jamming at home, so it gets used ALOT.

DucksEliminated is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 27th, 2013, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity

You really should have a spare set of tubes just in case.
Get a spare set of JJ's, you could change the tubes to see if you hear a difference.
If it sounds better keep the new ones in, save old set for spares.
If you can't tell a difference in sound, leave whichever set in you wish and have the other for spare.
telex76 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old February 27th, 2013, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic

I'm about 5 yrs on mine with the stock tubers too......just gigged it (I use a 2x12 cab w/ mine for gigs, never get past 5 on Ch. 1) last month, sounded awesome! I don't gig so much anymore, but probably should look into a new set.
richey88 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old February 27th, 2013, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)