Peavey Classic 30 Redesign? - Page 2 - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 29th, 2013, 11:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiker View Post
Great! This improved model was first rolled out at NAMM 2013, or sooner?
I can find no mention of the redesign coming out of NAMM 2013, but it IS a redesign. On-line retailers are now taking pre-orders and the new design units are expected to ship on 02-11.

__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 11:53 AM   #22 (permalink)
FMA
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmck54 View Post
Looks like this new model has a standby switch. Never knew why
Peavey never had a standby switch on these models.
Hartley Peavey explains, in great detail, here: http://www.peavey.com/support/techno.../chapter_6.pdf
FMA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 12:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
waparker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 10,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMA View Post
Hartley Peavey explains, in great detail, here: http://www.peavey.com/support/techno.../chapter_6.pdf
Beat me to it...

so if HP's philosophy is to use inrush current limiters instead of standy switches, why does the C30 have one now?
waparker4 is online now   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old January 29th, 2013, 12:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
Former Member
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Age: 47
Posts: 4,102
Why no 6l6 amps?
musicmatty is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 12:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shertz, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by waparker4 View Post
Beat me to it...

so if HP's philosophy is to use inrush current limiters instead of standy switches, why does the C30 have one now?
Because for years people have been complaining, not understanding Peavey"s non standby switching?
bun malaey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 01:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
According to Peavey's web-site, you'll now need two (2) footswitches:

Part 03054360 required for: Normal/Lead channel switching and Boost on/off

Part 03051000 required for: Reverb on/off

This sucks!
__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 02:55 PM   #27 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
MN Punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota
Age: 45
Posts: 945
The "boost" is and always has been a "suck" button. I've never once had a desire to switch it on, so putting it on a footswitch would be pointless for me.

A standby switch is nice, but way less crucial than people make it out to be. Just turn down the volume to zero if you want to take a beer break. Done.

Looks like I'll be hanging on to my old beat-up USA-made C-30. :)
MN Punk is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 02:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
muchxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 7,898
Amps bearing the "Classic 30" monniker have change fifty times over the years.

The original Classic 30 had a phaser or a chorus or sumthin' built in.
muchxs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 05:01 PM   #29 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
News Flash! Sweetwater is referring to the new Peavey Classic 30 as:

Peavey Classic 30 II
__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 05:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
LGOberean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Age: 60
Posts: 5,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicmatty View Post
Why no 6l6 amps?
No 6L6 amps in the Classic line that I'm aware of, but Peavey does make amps w/ 6L6s. Namely, the ValveKing series. And the Windsor Studio comes with EL34s but can take various tubes, including 6L6s.
__________________
Larry G

The soon to be famous musician/Cranks out Top 40 tunes in a bar/While his mind is somewhere on vacation/Far away from his voice and guitar
Bob Bennett
LGOberean is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 29th, 2013, 06:07 PM   #31 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
vanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: AZ
Age: 55
Posts: 560
There were some "Classic" 6L6 amps back in the 80's. Hybrid design with a 6L6 power amp and transistor preamp. My friend has one.
vanr is online now   Reply With Quote

Old January 30th, 2013, 04:13 PM   #32 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
After speaking with Peavey, I got much more detail regarding the C30 changes.



Peavey Classic 30 Redesign:
  • no changes to amp circuit (translation: same voicing)
  • no more 3-sided circuit boards
  • very low microphonics and superior PCB treatment
  • no more noisy tube clips
  • metal cap over V1 tube
  • easier access to change tubes via smaller tubeguard
  • external access to mains fuse
  • vastly improved hand-wound transformer designs
  • universal power transformer setup, via internal series/parallel connections
  • IEC AC plug
  • foot-switchable boost
  • standby switch
  • silent switching
  • vintage-style pilot light
  • more subtle curve on the head piece
Footnote: The control panel is still chrome
__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy

Last edited by FenderGuy53; January 31st, 2013 at 09:53 AM.
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 30th, 2013, 08:35 PM   #33 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Chautauqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland Oregon
Age: 35
Posts: 939
It does look better, but I just think they had SUCH a good thing going with the old desgn that the new "bet buckle" logo (and the inability to remove it) kinda bugs me (cause I don't care for the logo AT ALL). The good news is that the amps are amazing, but I' glad I have an old one sans the "shred logo". I don't think I'm alone in this cause EVERY old version seems to have the same treatment I did to mine, and they just look better that way IMO. I have a sneaking suspicion that this turn a LOT of people off to the point where they don't even try them amps out (same thing with a few other companies along with the way certain amps get percieved as fitting in a very narrow category regardless of how they actually perform - Carvin and a few others come to mind). It's a bummer cause the Classic amps are pretty tough to beat on a dollars to performance spectrum.

Made in the USA, quality parts and bomb-proof construction, drool-worthy OD tones with no OD pedal needed and a clean channel that's only slightly less "chimey" then a Fender (most likely due to the EL84 -vs- 6v6 Tube array)... and all for less money then some SS amps (not saying SS should be inherently cheap but there's a lot more to drive the price up in a tube amp unless there's a bunch of on-board processors/effects built in).
__________________
73 Tele-Deluxe, 72 Tele-Deluxe RI (w/modded pups), 05 MIM Strat (W/CS69s), Peavey Classic 50-212...
From Portland...NOT a Hipster
Chautauqua is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 30th, 2013, 08:38 PM   #34 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Chautauqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland Oregon
Age: 35
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenderGuy53 View Post
After speaking with Peavey, I got much more detail regarding the C30 changes.


Peavey Classic 30 Redesign:
  • no changes to amp circuit
  • no more 3-sided circuit boards
  • very low microphonics and superior PCB treatment
  • no more noisy tube clips
  • metal cap over V1 tube
  • easier access to change tubes via smaller tubeguard
  • external access to mains fuse
  • vastly improved hand-wound transformer designs
  • universal power transformer setup, via internal series/parallel connections
  • IEC AC plug
  • foot-switchable boost
  • standby switch
  • silent switching
  • vintage-style pilot light
  • more subtle curve on the head piece
Footnote: The control panel is still chrome
Wow so it's not just cosmetic... Interesting, I wonder how they SOUND compared to the old ones, if the internal changes do anything to the overall tone of the amp. The boost function sounds great...wish I had that on my C50 cause it'd be nice to get some clean boostn for those times when you want a clean tone that's louder then the baseline clean channel but you don't want to go all the way into the "lead" channel.

I don't see any YT demo's yet, and I'd really like to hear them A/B'd next ot the old versions (AFIK there is no difference between the old versions and the now "middle" versions).
__________________
73 Tele-Deluxe, 72 Tele-Deluxe RI (w/modded pups), 05 MIM Strat (W/CS69s), Peavey Classic 50-212...
From Portland...NOT a Hipster
Chautauqua is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 30th, 2013, 10:19 PM   #35 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
3 Chord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Billings MT
Age: 47
Posts: 3,327
Forget all the changes and throw in a better speaker and a footswitch. Now that would be an improvment, really there was nothing wrong with the original design.

Mine is still going strong since 1993.
3 Chord is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 30th, 2013, 11:38 PM   #36 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chautauqua View Post
Wow so it's not just cosmetic... Interesting, I wonder how they SOUND compared to the old ones, if the internal changes do anything to the overall tone of the amp.
Peavey says that there is no change to the tone.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chautauqua View Post
I don't see any YT demo's yet, and I'd really like to hear them A/B'd next ot the old versions (AFIK there is no difference between the old versions and the now "middle" versions).
You won't see YouTube vids for awhile. These new boxes won't hit the retailers until mid-February, but here's a treat from Sweetwater:

Classic 30 Redesign Demo
__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy

Last edited by FenderGuy53; January 31st, 2013 at 12:29 AM.
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2013, 03:51 AM   #37 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Chautauqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland Oregon
Age: 35
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenderGuy53 View Post
Peavey says that there is no change to the tone.




You won't see YouTube vids for awhile. These new boxes won't hit the retailers until mid-February, but here's a treat from Sweetwater:

Classic 30 Redesign Demo

Ooh, cool, thanks for the link... I'm really interested in the "switchable boost" function... Seems like a very worthwhile addition aye.
__________________
73 Tele-Deluxe, 72 Tele-Deluxe RI (w/modded pups), 05 MIM Strat (W/CS69s), Peavey Classic 50-212...
From Portland...NOT a Hipster
Chautauqua is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2013, 07:14 AM   #38 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: apache junction az
Posts: 1,727
i noticed they made a classic 20 at one time. anyone remember why they discontinued it? did the 30 replace it.
chris.
__________________
R.I.P Phil "Phil Ochs When I'm Gone"
jipp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2013, 09:28 AM   #39 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Colo Springs E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 11,455
Those are nice changes, I always wondered why that boost wasn't foot switchable... wonder what the price will be?
__________________
"Each day better than the next..."
Colo Springs E is offline   Reply With Quote

Old January 31st, 2013, 09:52 AM   #40 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
FenderGuy53's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 3,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chautauqua View Post
Ooh, cool, thanks for the link... I'm really interested in the "switchable boost" function... Seems like a very worthwhile addition aye.
Yes, the new Classic 30 sounds great in the video!

The BOOST feature was always there, but it didn't really boost the signal, and the BOOST wasn't remotely switchable (you had to push the button).

Now, the BOOST button actually does boost the signal - and it's remotely switchable, via the 2-button footswitch!

Take a listen, starting at the 3:00 mark on the video, to hear the new BOOST function in action. The new BOOST is VERY nice!
__________________
Tele > Joyo's/Ditto > BJr III/V1512T/HRDx III
Great deals with: oldteleguy
FenderGuy53 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
xDSC01131
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.