Is it possible to change the resistance of a speaker? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 7th, 2011, 09:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
scud133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 552
Is it possible to change the resistance of a speaker?

Is it possible to change a speaker's resistance (e.g., 8ohm to 16ohm)? Like soldering a resister somewhere inside or something?

scud133 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 7th, 2011, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 955
The only way to change the impedance of a speaker is to recone it using a different voice coil impedance.
__________________
John R. Frondelli
"Mediocre" is the new "Good"
jrfrond is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 7th, 2011, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
scud133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrfrond View Post
The only way to change the impedance of a speaker is to recone it using a different voice coil impedance.
righto. my fault for such a noob question. i was thinking merely resistance when i need to be thinking impedance. it's early in the morning, my bad.
scud133 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old October 7th, 2011, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 610
If you're willing to give up 1/2 of the amp's maximum power, you could
add an 8 ohm power resistor in series with the speaker.

Sometimes guitar players like to get some extra overdrive without the
extra volume, so it would act as a mild power soak at the same time.

But as jrfrond said, you have to change the voicecoil to change the
speaker itself (and maintain full power).
megafiddle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 7th, 2011, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 664
you could add another speaker to get your desired resistance.
dqami is offline   Reply With Quote

Old October 8th, 2011, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Raybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kyburz, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 509
You can re-cone the speaker with a different impedance coil, or just get a Weber Z-Matcher.
__________________
Tube-Tone Amplifiers
Raybob is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
ASAT Z-3 S/H
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.