Figuring out reverb tank swap on old Alamo amp - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old November 19th, 2010, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Figuring out reverb tank swap on old Alamo amp

I have an Alamo Futura Reverb that I mentioned in the 'Let's See Your Alamo Amps' thread about a year ago, and I just started playing it again and have been thinking about trying another reverb tank in this thing. The stock tank, as verified by another member with same amp with the same tank, is an O.C. Electronics 'Cascade Reverberating Unit', type 251. That's all the specification it has besides a patent number. I measured the resistance and got 280 ohms at the input and 370 ohms at the output. This is a short tank, but it could easily fit a long one if I so desire, so it's the input/output impedance I need help figuring out.
What can you fellas tell me?

skimballc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 19th, 2010, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity

Those ressitances are not in line with any tank that I know of. What is the problem with the tank?
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 19th, 2010, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
TDPRI Member

Nothing much. It works, but I was thinking about experimenting with a long tank and seeing if I can get a better sound out of the reverb. I did a little research on the OC Electronics tanks and didn't find much, but did see a couple mentions of them being weird designs and not having a particularly good sound.
I understand it could just be the amp design, but reverb tanks are cheap enough to try swapping out.