65 DRRI - noisy Vibrato... - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 9th, 2010, 03:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bavaria - Germany
Posts: 28
65 DRRI - noisy Vibrato...

I really love my 65 DRRI - but…
...the Vibrato causes quite a noise, while the Amp with the Vibrato switched of is running really quiet.
Anyone here having the same issues?
Is there any chance to get rid of this noise? If yes, how?
Though i dont use the Vibrato very often, i´d rather have it quiet…

johnnygold is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 9th, 2010, 03:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 81
I wish that i could use the vibrato on my DRRI more, but it is making this annoying blaffing noise.
blaffblaffblaffblaffblaff

Depends of how deep i set the vibrato though.
Nilsi_tl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 9th, 2010, 04:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bavaria - Germany
Posts: 28
I´ve seen Jim Campilongo on youtube demonstrating the PRRI where the Vibrato works perfectly. Should be the same system, so i guess there must be a way to make it run properly. Just how...???
johnnygold is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old April 9th, 2010, 07:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
xjazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Posts: 3,269
Tubes perhaps.
Mine is doing the same thing.
This was discussed around here before...
__________________
Still got the Twang!

https://soundcloud.com/jotacaster
xjazzy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 9th, 2010, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
telex76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Tx.
Age: 63
Posts: 11,655
Princeton vibrato is completely different than Drri vibrato. (DRRI uses an opto-coupler and Princeton doesn't) That being said your vibrato should work without being too noisy. If you had a hand wired DR I could offer some trouble tips, but I would not try to work on a PCB amp. Someone might help you but you will probably have to take it to a tech.
telex76 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old April 10th, 2010, 05:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 6,521
I had this same problem and also with the reverb. It took me weeks to solve/partially solve it. I ended up getting an Ampeg footswitch, and a big shielded cable. That was half of the noise solved. Those Fender footswitches are like antennas, there's hardly any shielding.

Then, I wrapped the whole cable a whole bunch with electrical tape. Helped to have a shorter cable, too. With the reverb, I took the tank out, epoxy'd the leads, then put steel plates on top & bottom, wrapped it in a towell, & taped it up with electrical & duct tape. That was better for a cleaner, longer-dwelling reverb. Also may be some ground wire is loose if I can remember another problem I had. I'm no tech, but I searched forever to solve the problem and that method helped me.
__________________
"If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door." Milton Berle
1955 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 5th, 2013, 04:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: istanbul
Posts: 12
I removed the new digital tremolo circuit completely and replaced it with the old school opto coupler. The ticking noise when the tremolo is switched on can be eliminated by gently pushing the green grid wire of pin 2 of V5 away from the other wires.

But the tremolo is very shallow now. The tremolo Intensity pot does nothing until 9. When I set the Intensity pot to 10, I have a very very shallow tremolo.

Any ideas what the reason might be?

Last edited by adnanb; March 5th, 2013 at 04:43 AM. Reason: spelling
adnanb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 5th, 2013, 05:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
hiero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey Hills, UK
Posts: 97
Simply get a new Tube for the Vibrato...

I had this (not the perennial tick which is inherent) and it sorted it out. Apparently Fender go through vast amounts of Tube matches as the slightest deficiency can cause noise when input into the Vibrato. Keep the tube you have as will probably be good for another application.
__________________
__________________________
Upgrades for BOSS Pedals & FX
------------------------------
http://boss-pedals.jimdo.com
hiero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old May 2nd, 2014, 06:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by adnanb View Post
I removed the new digital tremolo circuit completely and replaced it with the old school opto coupler. The ticking noise when the tremolo is switched on can be eliminated by gently pushing the green grid wire of pin 2 of V5 away from the other wires.

But the tremolo is very shallow now. The tremolo Intensity pot does nothing until 9. When I set the Intensity pot to 10, I have a very very shallow tremolo.

Any ideas what the reason might be?
I have the same issue...replaced the digital pcb and placed the optocoupler but the tremolo intensity isn't much effective until 8 or 9 . Is this normal? Maybe the optocoupler require some mod?
Anyone can help?
Emanuel is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
1998 MIM Standard - Electron Blue
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.