Two Guitars - One Amp? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 30th, 2010, 08:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rockville, Md. USA
Posts: 1,104
Two Guitars - One Amp?

Whats the best way to mix two guitars into one amp?

markw51 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
alexpigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,459
For playing simultaneously, or alternating between two guitars and keeping them both plugged in?
__________________
Powerhouse Strat, Classic Vibe Thinline, Baja Tele, Vox AC15C1, Vox Pathfinder, Line 6 M13
alexpigment is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rockville, Md. USA
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexpigment View Post
For playing simultaneously, or alternating between two guitars and keeping them both plugged in?
Simultaneously.
markw51 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old March 30th, 2010, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
alexpigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,459
I would assume you could use something like this:



Then again, I have a feeling the amp police will be all over this and tell me about overloading current etc. When I was a kid, I wired up everything from parts I had lying around and it worked and nothing burned down. Bottom line, I think this will work.
__________________
Powerhouse Strat, Classic Vibe Thinline, Baja Tele, Vox AC15C1, Vox Pathfinder, Line 6 M13
alexpigment is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
studio1087's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Near Milwaukee
Age: 50
Posts: 16,216
I have one of the Morley boxes but I use it in the reverse direction.....I play a Taylor T-5 through an elctric amp or an acoustic amp or both amps. (A/B/Y)

The Morley box is bulletproof no matter what direction you run the signal. Nice tool.
__________________
John

"The rock and roll business is pretty absurd, but the world of serious music is much worse." - Frank Zappa
studio1087 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Telefied
 
BigDaddyLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
Age: 53
Posts: 21,837
Separate channels? Am I missing something?
__________________
nothing lasts, nothing is finished, nothing is perfect
BigDaddyLH is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Age: 62
Posts: 1,757
Yes, that box, or another like it, will do the trick. I use one with two different guitars at all of our rehearsals. (although not simultaneously - there's only one of me!)
bowman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 01:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
SackvilleDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sackville
Posts: 840
I use a Radial Bigshot ABY
__________________
Tele/Les Pauls/Strats->Diamond Compressor->Pitchblack->Diamond Phase->'86 BF Rat->TIM->Analogman TS9/808->Ibanez SC-10->Diamond Tremolo->Eventide TimeFactor->DIY SHO w/ Master Volume->Vox AC15C1 or Marshall 1962 RI w/ KT66s
SackvilleDan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 01:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Martin R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,367
I have an A/B box at the front of my pedal board to switch between guitars. I can turn A on, B on, or leave both of them on or off, (it's not an A/B/Y switch). I've tried both guitars "on" and both signals are very, very weak.

I'm not sure that Morley box is doing anything different than what I had done. Right?
__________________
Martin
___________________________
E. Christina Herr & Wild Frontier Americana Motel
Martin R is online now   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Birdmankustomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Age: 23
Posts: 2,643
Hey, those are some pretty nice guitars... huh, wonder what amps for, interes-OH DEAR GOD!!! NOO!!!!!!!!!

(had to make a reference to that disqusting video that the title reminded me of...

I think that A-B box would be the best bet though.
__________________
That's just like, your opinion man...
Birdmankustomz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
beep.click's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Age: 55
Posts: 5,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by markw51 View Post
Whats the best way to mix two guitars into one amp?
The best way is to get another amp.

Seriously, any attempt to run 2 guitars simultaneously into 1 amp is going to be a compromise, somewhere. People have done it, for sure; I personally have done it. I personally have run an acoustic guitar and a vocal mic into a Fender tube guitar amp... it got me through the gig, and worked reasonably well.

But with any combination, you're definitely giving up the ability to optimize the guitar/amp sound.
__________________
"It looked like a giant green gum drop to me."
beep.click is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 02:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Rolling Estonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD.
Age: 45
Posts: 3,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by beep.click View Post
The best way is to get another amp.

Seriously, any attempt to run 2 guitars simultaneously into 1 amp is going to be a compromise, somewhere. People have done it, for sure; I personally have done it. I personally have run an acoustic guitar and a vocal mic into a Fender tube guitar amp... it got me through the gig, and worked reasonably well.

But with any combination, you're definitely giving up the ability to optimize the guitar/amp sound.
So it would work for impromptu drunk karaoke with guitar?

M
Rolling Estonian is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 03:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
alexpigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolling Estonian View Post
So it would work for impromptu drunk karaoke with guitar?
Haha :)

Anyway, yes, two amps are ideal of course, but I figured that wasn't an option otherwise the op wouldn't be asking a question here.
__________________
Powerhouse Strat, Classic Vibe Thinline, Baja Tele, Vox AC15C1, Vox Pathfinder, Line 6 M13
alexpigment is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 03:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
alexpigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin R View Post
I have an A/B box at the front of my pedal board to switch between guitars. I can turn A on, B on, or leave both of them on or off, (it's not an A/B/Y switch). I've tried both guitars "on" and both signals are very, very weak.
I would assume this is because A is 100% A, B is 100% B, and Y is 50% A and 50% B. Right?
__________________
Powerhouse Strat, Classic Vibe Thinline, Baja Tele, Vox AC15C1, Vox Pathfinder, Line 6 M13
alexpigment is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 03:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
koen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West of Morocco
Age: 49
Posts: 1,149
Always wondered why these boxes are called A/B/Y and not A/B/C ?
koen is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 03:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
ThermionicScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SW CR IA US NA PE
Age: 34
Posts: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by koen View Post
Always wondered why these boxes are called A/B/Y and not A/B/C ?
"C" would imply a third input. I've always assumed the "Y" is symbolic of both signals meeting and going through, but I could be wrong...

- Scott
__________________
Wound thirds are my anti-wank.
ThermionicScott is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 03:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
alexpigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott S View Post
"C" would imply a third input. I've always assumed the "Y" is symbolic of both signals meeting and going through, but I could be wrong...
This is what I always assumed it was for too, but it's possible we're wrong together.
__________________
Powerhouse Strat, Classic Vibe Thinline, Baja Tele, Vox AC15C1, Vox Pathfinder, Line 6 M13
alexpigment is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 04:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 66
Posts: 5,373
Way back when we used to plug everything into anything .mikes ,bass,guitars etc ..Amps were a premium buy and hard to get and heavy to get on a bus , so anything went.Sometimes if a guy could barely play but had a decent amp ,he was in .
musicalmartin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 30th, 2010, 11:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Aurora,Colorado
Posts: 3,502
That's why old Fender amps had two sets of inputs and two sets of controls.
Dave Hopping is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

/td>

» Random Photo for Guests
Flame Maple Neck close-up
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.