would $340 for a 72 vibro champ be a good deal - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 22nd, 2009, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hollywood california
Age: 46
Posts: 106
would $340 for a 72 vibro champ be a good deal

cosmetically beautiful, but the first input is not working. is this an expensive repair or do you think i can do better?

fiestabender is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Doctor of Teleocity
 
Joe-Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 52
Posts: 10,001
It depends on what's wrong. For that money everything should be working.
__________________
Music Is What Feelings Sound Like
Joe-Bob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
popthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: a hawk makin lazy circles
Age: 49
Posts: 5,599
is it a local buy ? i don't think the price is too out of line. i've heard of people getting better deals.. but also of paying more. since it needs a little work you could try and talk the seller down a bit.
__________________
loops and other hooplah
http://soundcloud.com/bonanzalunchbox/tracks
popthree is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old November 22nd, 2009, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NoVa
Posts: 1,235
I think it's a high price since the first input is out, especially if you have to take it to an amp tech to fix. If you have some basic electrical chops though just do it yourself. There are plenty of folks here who could help you.
__________________
So what exactly is so funny about peace, love and understanding?
Jerry J is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
muchxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 8,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiestabender View Post
cosmetically beautiful, but the first input is not working. is this an expensive repair or do you think i can do better?
First input not working is a cheap easy repair... unless the amp has a secret like being modded from one end to the other inside. It's either the 1/4" jack or the connection the the preamp tube. It might something as simple as the jack being loose. If the nut is missing it replace the nut. If the nut is loose tighten the nut.

If the amp isn't working 100% you could use that as a bargaining point and beat the seller up on the price. The input is a cheap easy fix out here in the woods, it might cost you $125 just to have someone look at it in L.A..
__________________
.
muchxs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hollywood california
Age: 46
Posts: 106
how would you diagnose/ trouble shoot the first input not working ?
fiestabender is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
muchxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 8,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiestabender View Post
how would you diagnose/ trouble shoot the first input not working ?
The jack only needs to do two things... it needs to feed signal through the 68k resistor and on to the preamp tube grid and it needs to connect the ground to the ground. It's a switching jack so it needs to connect the input to the ground with the guitar unplugged so if we're counting it does three things.

I've worked on amps where yo-yos have bent the switching tab on the jack for some odd reason. That will make the amp noisy with the guitar unplugged. Bend it too far the other way and the input won't work.

It's probably something simple like the tip of the jack being bent back so it doesn't make contact although you almost have to get in there and deliberately bend it to create that problem.
__________________
.
muchxs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Desolation Row
Posts: 2,390
Grab it for $300

probably an easy fix

there is not much on the chassis

Groovey Records is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
DMace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,830
Personally, considering the deals that are out there on vintage amps these days, I would never pay that much for a Champ. I just saw a '62 Deluxe in EX+ condition for sale on craigslist for $1200 and a 70s Deluxe for $750. And those are the asking prices; they could likely be talked down. I wouldn't pay more than $250 for a SF Champ. But that's just me.
DMace is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Desolation Row
Posts: 2,390
Vibro champ is not champ

Vibro Champ arguably has the sweetest Vibrato tones around

I've sold VC for $400 no question asked a few times

No difference between the BF and SF and a BF can go for 5 and above no problem
Groovey Records is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 05:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
DMace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groovey Records View Post
Vibro champ is not champ

Vibro Champ arguably has the sweetest Vibrato tones around

I've sold VC for $400 no question asked a few times

No difference between the BF and SF and a BF can go for 5 and above no problem
Again, just my opinion as to the value. ymmv. But considering vintage Deluxes, Princetons and Vibroluxes are available for a few hundred more- if that- I'd never lay out that much $$ for a Champ, Vibro-Champ or any variation thereof.
DMace is offline   Reply With Quote

Old November 22nd, 2009, 06:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Poster Extraordinaire
 
muchxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 8,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groovey Records View Post
Vibro champ is not champ

Vibro Champ arguably has the sweetest Vibrato tones around

I've sold VC for $400 no question asked a few times
The New York metropolitan area is its own market. There are something like 15 million people within a 15 mile radius of Manhattan, maybe more? Out of all those people you can be sure there's one who will throw down $400 on a Vibro Champ.

Try to get someone to drive 45 minutes or so and then part with their money out in the sticks.

'Course, it will take you two hours to drive those 15 miles into Manhattan!

The more I think about it the extra input on that Vibro Champ has probably been disconnected. They both go to the same place so if one works it's no big deal to get the other one working IMO. The only hassle is there's a tricky little circuit w/ the 68k gridstoppers, a 1 meg grid leak and two switching jacks.
__________________
.
muchxs is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
Walnut sapele back
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.