Can I bridge channels on a DRRI? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nash-Vegas
Age: 33
Posts: 309
Can I bridge channels on a DRRI?

I don't know why I couldn't but I don't want to do any damage. Thanks

cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 17th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,233
You won't damage anything, but it doesn't work real well. The Vibrato channel has one more stage than the Normal channel so they are out of phase with each other. You might find some settings that work, but you'll also find spots on the volume dials that will decrease the volume due to the phase cancellation.

Again, you won't hurt anything if you experiment with it.
milocj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old June 17th, 2009, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Guns1rose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Richmond, Va
Age: 20
Posts: 296
Yes, you can jumper the two channels. However, the two channels are out of phase, so you'll need to invert the polarity of the jumper cable, or buy a Barber Launch Pad...
__________________
Tyler Foxwell
Myspace.com/TylerFoxwell
Guns1rose is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old June 17th, 2009, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
TB72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 731
I do this with a Barber Launch Pad pedal. It has positive and negative outputs, which enables you to jumper the channels and get a bigger sound. Without the pedal, jumpering the channels causes quite a thin tone because of the phase cancellations...It won't damage the amp, but the tone ain't any heck.

Later...
__________________
Why is easy-listening music so hard to listen to?
TB72 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 17th, 2009, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nash-Vegas
Age: 33
Posts: 309
Ok, that's cool. I was really digging the first channel and wishing I could have the reverb on the first channel without doing any more mods. Is there a way to do it without spending $139? I don't know much about polarity outside of speakers. (prepare for a stupid question here...) Can you swap it like you swap it on a speaker? Reverse the leads? Like take the hot and ground from one end of the cable and reverse them? Or am I going to get smoke and a repair bill? Thanks
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote

Old June 17th, 2009, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
holgaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 62
Posts: 1,222
This out of phase problem - is that just with the Deluxe? Seems to work fine with my Vibrolux.
holgaguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
1968 Super Reverb
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.