Best Blues Tube amp for home use? - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.

Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com

Forum Jump

Old January 22nd, 2009, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
NEW MEMBER!

Best Blues Tube amp for home use?

Hi I'm a newbie here. Someone over the Acoustic Guitar Forum suggested I go here with this question, so here goes:

I am looking for a high-quality amp for use at home. I've tried several amps and I love the warm fender sound and really liked the Blues DeVille 410 reissue. Great tone, and great for blues. Really responds to pick attack well. I am looking for a warm sound which can be clean and driven to growl when you dig in. Although I really like the Blues DeVille 410, it needs to work at bedroom volume. Also, I don’t want issues with it (like microphonics or other problems), so the Mexican-made Fender is out after hearing lots of complaints from fellow players.

I play lots of blues and I love the Clapton blues tone (especially the Bassman sound he gets, although when I tried the Bassman next to the Blues DeVille, the bassman wasn’t as responsive to my playing). Another favorite tone can be found on SRV’s ‘The Sky is Crying’ in his version of Little Wing on that album.

I am looking for a warm, 3D, detailed, hi-fi tube sound that is clean and full when played softly but starts to growl when you dig in. It also needs to be full range with lots of detail in both low and high end (so nothing too midrangy, dark and weak)