BF Champ Extension Speaker - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!
Notices

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 16th, 2008, 02:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 37
BF Champ Extension Speaker

Just picked up a '66 Champ in exc. condition. I would like to use the speaker as little as possible to keep it in said condition.

Looking at Ampwares site, I see they have RCA plugs and wire. I am thinking I could get another speaker and wire it up to the plug and, voila! Extension speaker for the Champ.

Also, I am guessing it would be possible to put the RCA on one end and a 1/4" on the other to use in a cabinet.

Any thoughts? What gauge wire would be best?

Thanks in advance.

Johnny Halo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 16th, 2008, 03:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
eugenedunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 61
Posts: 2,406
Are you against pulling out the RCA jack and replacing it with a standard 1/4-inch jack? It is a direct drop-in, with no drilling needed. Very easy to do.

If, on the other hand you don't want to mess with it, I suggest you put your Champ in a head cabinet and wire a RCA plug into the back panel jack. Then your original cabinet and speaker will remain unused.
__________________
EHX Hum Debugger > Barber TonePress > Fulltone MDV-3 > Bixonic Expandora > Q-modded BudWah > XP300 Space Station > Fulltone SupaTrem > Keeley AD9 > Express XT Looper > Peterson StroboStomp > ISP Decimator > Fulltone TruePath ABY > The Amps....
eugenedunn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 16th, 2008, 10:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 37
I was thinking that making a wire(s) would be the easiest and least invasive way to go.
Johnny Halo is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old July 16th, 2008, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
eugenedunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 61
Posts: 2,406
This is a pretty straightforward plug n play setup. I would recommend it if you're gonna transport your amp and plug into cabinets all the time.

Have you thought about removing the existing speaker and storing it? Just replace with a robust Weber 8F125 like I did. Much louder, and late breakup. 3.2 ohm vintage correct impedance, 30-watt rating.

__________________
EHX Hum Debugger > Barber TonePress > Fulltone MDV-3 > Bixonic Expandora > Q-modded BudWah > XP300 Space Station > Fulltone SupaTrem > Keeley AD9 > Express XT Looper > Peterson StroboStomp > ISP Decimator > Fulltone TruePath ABY > The Amps....
eugenedunn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 16th, 2008, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Tele-Holic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 986
Or you can get a RCA-to-1/4" adapter and use a regular 1/4" speaker cable to an extension cab. I believe Weber can make any speakers with the stock Champ speaker impedance.
WrapAround is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 16th, 2008, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
eugenedunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 61
Posts: 2,406
I think WrapAround's got the easiest solution, but the RCA jack is inherently kinda weak.

Like I said earlier, if you plan on connecting and disconnecting a lot and transporting a lot, you would do well to either go for the beefier 1/4-inch jack or even the head cabinet route.
__________________
EHX Hum Debugger > Barber TonePress > Fulltone MDV-3 > Bixonic Expandora > Q-modded BudWah > XP300 Space Station > Fulltone SupaTrem > Keeley AD9 > Express XT Looper > Peterson StroboStomp > ISP Decimator > Fulltone TruePath ABY > The Amps....
eugenedunn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old July 16th, 2008, 12:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tele-Afflicted
 
SamBooka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Age: 43
Posts: 1,174
I have done the 1/4 to RCA adapter thing in the past.
2 issues.. Very long and weak. Also more weight straigh down on the RCA jack and with vibration the RCA plug can fall out.

I made a custom cable using lamp cord (I know.. but it seems to work for me) since I didnt want to replace the RCA jack with a 1/4". I loop the cable through the handle so the weight is not being held by the RCA jack.

Cheers

Drew
SamBooka is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


» Random Photo for Guests
JVBack
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.