Turning Combos into Heads - Telecaster Guitar Forum
The Number 1 Fender Telecaster Guitar authority in the world.
   

Go Back   Telecaster Guitar Forum > Amplifier Discussion Forums > Amp Central Station
Forgot Username/Password? Join Us!

Amp Central Station Amps, tubes, speakers & everything AMP related.


Wilde Pickups by Bill & Becky Lawrence WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Amps, Mods, Pedals dallenpickups.com Warmoth.com seymourduncan.com


Forum Jump


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 24th, 2008, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
bigdaddyweed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 59
Turning Combos into Heads

Just want to get other guitarists thoughts on this.

I currently have 2 tube heads, and 2 tube combos. Since I have cabs in 2x10, 2x12, and 4x12 combinations, I'm thinking about turning the combo amps into heads, giving me the freedom to pick and choose what I need, per gig. I'm also currently building a 1x12 cab, for the smaller gigs or practices.
The woodworking aspect is not a problem, as far as making new enclosures for the heads. I've looked into trying to do some trading, combo for head of the same model, but haven't had much luck. So, have any of you done this? And if so, have you ever regretted it? Or, any pitfalls that I'm not seeing?

The tube heads I have are a Dr. Z Maz Jr., and a hot rodded Epi Valve Jr..
The combos are a Mesa Maverick 2x12, and a Peavey Classic 30.

Later...........weedman

bigdaddyweed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 24th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tele-Meister
 
Jim L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Merrimac, MA
Posts: 389
I guess you just need to make sure your amps have multitap OTs so as to pick the ohm setting depending on which cab you plug into, no?
Jim L is offline   Reply With Quote

Old March 24th, 2008, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
TDPRI Member
 
bigdaddyweed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 59
Jim,
Yeah, all the cabs are set up at 16 ohm, and the amps are all compatable.............weedman
__________________
Good mornin' America , how are ya.....
bigdaddyweed is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old March 24th, 2008, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Friend of Leo's
 
Geoff738's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Age: 50
Posts: 4,515
I was going to ask pretty much the same question.

I'm guessing you'd want all the speakers to be roughly the same in terms of the wattage they're recommended for. Ie if all your amps are in the 15 - 30 watt range, also have all the cabs running speakers that can handle 30 watts and still sound good at 15. You wouldn't want to run a 100 watt head through a speaker rated at 25 watts, I don't think. Not for too long.

But is the opposite true as well? If you're running a lower watt head (or head part of a combo) through a speaker set that can take a lot of watts, will the speakers not have to work as hard and maybe not sound as good as when they're pushed a bit? I suspect this may make more of a difference if you're aiming for distorted tones. But, this is all just a guess by me. Amp gurus?

Cheers,
Geoff
Geoff738 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

/td>

» Random Photo for Guests
Samick Greg Bennett Tele - front
Untitled Document



 


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2



IMPORTANT:Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult! No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
© TDPRI.COM 1999 - 2014 All rights reserved.