|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Resources | TeleShop | Gallery | Classifieds | Reviews | Register | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Acoustic Heaven Unplugged forum for acoustic players. |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
TDPRI Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London
Age: 45
Posts: 33
|
The Holy Grail - Robert Johnson L1
I say there is a small but significant market for this
http://www.rjguitar.com/enter.php |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 753
|
That's bullhonkus, right? Surely the provenance for an artifact like this has to go beyond "It's the one in the picture; you can tell because...it looks like the one in the picture. That'll be $6,000,000, please."
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Afflicted
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: north of Boston
Posts: 1,639
|
Yes, I don't know anything about these things, but I did wonder where it has been for over 60 years.
__________________
"If you don't like the Blues, you got to have a Hole in your Soul." Luther Allison JOE |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
I don't see anything that proves that this is Robert Johnson's guitar. And the way they present their points like it is proof makes me even more skeptical. Pretty much everything they say simply tries to explain perceived differences between their guitar and the picture, and while those explanations are all reasonable, it's still a big jump to concluding that they have RJ's guitar.
__________________
"One of the best bands ever. These guys were such perfectionist"--Youtube user comment |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Holic
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 753
|
Another thing that stands out - many of the other items offered by the group selling this guitar are provenanced out the ying-yang (or, at least to my untrained eye) with letters, photos, etc. Why not the guitar? It's almost like they built an entire web site for the thing to overcompensate.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Friend of Leo's
|
I'm convinced it's real.
Disclaimer: I actually believe everything I read on the Internet(s).
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/jameswilsey |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
Tele-Meister
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 368
|
once in a lifetime opportunity...
You don't get too many opportunities to hand over $6million for a porly documented outrageous claim.
Doesn't it appear to be in increadibly good condition? |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) | |
|
Tele-Afflicted
|
Quote:
__________________
Alvin http://www.myspace.com/alvinblaine http://www.oldbluesound.com/about.htm _________________________ Originality is just undetected Plagiarism! |
|
|
|
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
The words Fender®, Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
The TDPRI is an independent,member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.